Sikhs Elected to House of Commons

January 25, 2006

Source: New Kerala &

On January 25, 2006 New Kerala & reported, "It's celebration time for relatives of all the elected Canadian Sikh parliamentarians as villagers and relatives are in festive mood and are dancing to express their happiness and love for those elected. Sikhs were elected to the House of Commons in the 39th general elections of Canada. The list of Sikh victors included Gurbax Singh Malhi, Ruby Kaur Dhalla, Navdeep Singh Bains, Ujjal Singh Dosanjh and Nina Kaur Grewal who have retained their seats while Sukh Singh Dhaliwal is the only new face in the House of Commons. Dhaliwal came in place of Gurmant Singh Grewal who did not contest this time."